Aug 04, 2021 | Lancaster Theological Seminary Newsletter

On July 28, the Lancaster Theological Seminary Board of Trustees took several more procedural steps toward affiliating with Moravian University and Moravian Theological Seminary, a process that could take up to several years to complete, contingent upon regulatory approvals.

Effective July 30, the Board appointed Dr. Bryon Grigsby, President of Moravian University, to also serve as Lancaster Theological Seminary President. The Rev. Dr. Heather Vacek, Moravian Theological Seminary Vice President and Dean, is now also Dean at Lancaster Seminary. And the Rev. Dr. Vanessa Lovelace, previously LTS Dean, now is Associate Dean of Lancaster Theological Seminary and continues as Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament.

In addition, trustees amended the LTS bylaws and articles of incorporation, and reconstituted the LTS Board of Trustees. Seven current LTS trustees are continuing along with eight new trustees, all from the current Moravian Seminary board. Find the details at

As announced in the July 19 news release, both Lancaster and Moravian seminaries will teach their current degree and certificate programs during the 2021-22 academic year.

As the affiliation process continues, please watch for email updates as well as news items posted on