23 UM scholarships awarded to EPA Conference students

Nearly two dozen students in our conference will be aided in their academic pursuits by gifts to Special Sunday offerings and other funds administered by the denomination’s Higher Education and Ministry board (GBHEM). Scholarships totaling $26,815 went to 23 recipients who belong to 19 churches spanning the conference from East Stroudsburg to Bristol, from Philadelphia to Lebanon and Lancaster. That total was tallied as of Nov. 30, but GBHEM reports that more students may receive awards before the board’s Office of Loans and Scholarships is finished in January.

The awards include :

  • seven Rev. Karen Layman Gift of Hope Scholarships;
  • six Ethnic Minority Scholarships, funded by the World Communion Sunday Offering;
  • a HANA (Hispanic, Asian and Native American) Scholarship;
  • two E. Craig Brandenburg Scholarships for students 35 years of age or older; and
  • one EPA Conference Merit Award, funded by our conference’ giving to the UM Student Day Offering (just received by many churches this past Sunday, Nov. 30).

Our scholars are matriculating at a variety of institutions (some of them UM-related*). Some are studying in the South from Duke University Divinity School* in Durham, N.C., to Southern Methodist University* in Dallas, to historically black Dillard University* in New Orleans and Hampton University in Virginia.  But most are staying closer to home, attending Lehigh, Penn State, West Chester, Kutztown, Eastern and Millersville universities, and also Messiah and Valley Forge Christian colleges.

Other seminaries our students are attending include Drew University Theological School*, Lutheran Theological Seminary of Philadelphia, Evangelical Theological Seminary in Myerstown, and ivy-league Yale Divinity School in New Haven Conn.

See the attached list of scholarship awardees and share it with your congregation. And please pray for the safety and success of all our students.

* UM-related institutions

By John Coleman, EPA Conference Communications Director