David Koch new EPA Conference Lay Leader

David L. Koch (pronounced “Koke”), of Exton, PA, is the new EPA Conference Lay Leader as of July 1, elected at the 2014 Annual Conference in May. He succeeds Dr. Mary White, who served in that role for the past eight years.

Koch, a retired, certified, senior Human Resources Management professional, is a member of Grove UMC in West Chester, PA. Born and raised a Baptist near St. Louis, MO, he joined the United Methodist Church in 1979 and has chaired Grove UMC’s Administrative Council and Building Committee. He also has taught Sunday school, mentored young confirmands, and participated in the drama ministry, several mission work camps and retreats.

A Christ Servant Minister and former President of the Conference Board of Pension and Health Benefits, Koch also formerly chaired the Southeast District’s Board of Church Location and Building, and he has been an Annual Conference lay equalizing delegate for 12 years. He is also an active volunteer with local and statewide organizations and causes.

“Initially, I plan to move around the conference and listen to people, learn
from them, and depend on the many good leaders already carrying out important lay ministries of the church,” said Koch, as he began his term. “I view my role as Conference Lay Leader simply to serve God, to serve the Church, and to serve the people.”

Married to the former Donna Beckett for 39 years, this father of two and grandfather retired after working for nearly 30 years in Human Resources Management. He also retired from the U.S. Naval Reserve with the rank of Commander. He holds a degree in mathematics from the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, an M.B.A. from the University of Louisville (KY), and a J.D. from  Widener University School of Law in Wilmington, DE.  He is a member of the Society for Human Resource Management and the Pennsylvania Bar Association.

Featured photo: David Koch thanks the Laity Session at Annual Conference for electing him Conference Lay Leader on May 15, as George Hollich, who chairs the Board of Laity Nominations Committee, looks on.  Sabrina Daluisio photo