Appointments & Retirements

2019 Appointments & Assignments

Bishop Peggy A. Johnson announces the following 2019 appointments and assignments–effective July 1, 2019, unless otherwise noted:

North District
  • Rev. Dave Alderson (Licensed Local Pastor) to serve Wescosville: Bethany UMC, as lead pastor, with Rev. Gary Dimovitz (Licensed Local Pastor) continuing as Associate Pastor, effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Bernard Kefer to serve Shamokin: Zion UMC in addition to his current appointment at Clark’s Grove UMC, effective January 1, 2019
  • Zimran Khan (Licensed Local Pastor) to serve Stroudsburg: Faith UMC, full-time, effective July 1, 2019
  • Rev. Candy LaBar (Elder) from Stroudsburg: Faith to serve Bethlehem: Wesley, full-time, July 1, 2019.
  • Nina Patton-Semerod (Elder) from Wooddale UMC to serve Bethlehem Epworth UMC, full-time, effective July 1, 2019
  • Karen Paquette (Lay Supply Pastor) serving Llewelyn UMC, 1/4-time, effective March 1, 2019.
  • Pat Welch (Part Time Local Pastor) to serve Allentown: Emmanuel UMC, 1/4-time, March 1, to June 30, 2019
South District
  • Rev. Nelson Alleman (Elder) to Thornton: Bethlehem UMC.
  • Rev. Thomas Brooks (Elder) from Phila.: Church of the Redeemer to Downingtown UMC.
  • Rev. Eric W. Carr (Provisional Elder) from Phila.: Mid-Town Parish to Chester: St. Daniel’s, as Full Time Associate Pastor.
  • Rev. Lin George (Part Time Local Pastor) to Grove UMC, one-half time, Associate Pastor, effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Victor Gimenez (Part-time Local Pastor) from Darby: Union Memorial (1/4 time) to Darby: Mt. Zion (1/4 time) and Darby: Union Memorial (1/4 time).
  • Rev. Jean Howe from West Lawn UMC 1/4 time and Reading: Grace UMC 1/4 time to Reading: Grace UMC 1/4 time and Geigertown: St. Paul’s 1/2 time.
  • Rev. Bern Kefer (Elder) from Clark’s Grove UMC to Oxford UMC.
  • Rev. Dr. Alfred S. Maloney (Retired Supply) to Phila.: Wharton-Wesley UMC, less than one-quarter time, as interim pastor, effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Brad Miller (Part-time Licensed Local Pastor) to Lima UMC, one quarter time, Associate Pastor/Youth Coordinator, effective February 1, 2019. This is Rev. Miller’s first appointment.
  • Rev. John Neider (Part Time Local Pastor) to Glen Moore UMC, one-half time (with 25% as an appointment and 25% as a direct hire), effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Keith D. Price (Retired Supply) to Nantmeal UMC,  one quarter time, effective May 12, 2019 through September 30, 2019 as interim pastor.
  • Rev. Tamie Scalise (Provisional Elder) from Phila.: Germantown: First UMC to Mohnton: Calvary UMC.
East District
  • Rev. Sunil Balasundarum to serve Doylestown UMC full-time.
  • Rev. Efrian Cotto to serve Phila.: St. Phillips UMC at one-quarter-time, effective January 1, 2019, in addition to his current appointment at Phila.: El Mesias.
  • Rev. Thomas Daniel to serve Phila.: Church of the Redeemer (half-time) and Phila.: Somerton UMC (half-time).
  • Rev. Bob Everett to serve Penns Park UMC
  • Rev. Andrew Krpata to serve Hatboro: Lehman Memorial UMC full-time.
  • Rev. Anthony Rogers to serve Doylestown UMC at one-quarter-time, effective December 5, 2018.
West District
  • Rev. Brian G. Albert (elder in-full) to Mount Joy: Glossbrenner, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. James Anderman (elder in-full) to Palmyra: First, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Keith Buckbee (full time local pastor) to Myerstown: Zion, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Richard Conner (retired elder) to serve as interim pastor at Ephrata: Hope, half-time, effective January 1, 2019 through June 30, 2019.
  • Rev. John Cordes (elder in-full) to Lebanon: Hebron, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Scott Dorn (elder in-full) to serve Ephrata: Hope, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. David Harris (elder in-full) to extension ministry at Cornwall Manor as lead chaplain, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Timothy A. Kriebel (elder in-full) to serve Cornwall, full-time, effective July 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Paul Miller (part-time local pastor) to serve Hopeland, 3/4-time, effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Gerald (Jerry) Reifsnyder (retired part-time local pastor) to Kleinfeltersville: Trinity, quarter-time, effective July 1, 2019, in addition to his current appointment at Schaefferstown: Zion.
  • Rev. Matthew Skillen (past-time local pastor) to serve Elizabethtown: St. Paul’s, quarter-time, effective January 1, 2019.
  • Rev. Andrés Torres (part-time local pastor) to Lebanon: Bethany Mission, quarter-time, effective March 1, 2019, as associate pastor.
  • Rev. Catherine Weaver (part-time local pastor) to Rawlinsville, quarter-time, effective July 1, 2019.

2019 Clergy Retirements

Bishop Johnson announces the following retirements effective July 1, 2019 unless otherwise noted.  Some individuals may continue serving at their current appointments in retired status.

  • Rev. Charles Cole (Elder) from Downingtown UMC
  • Rev. James Duckett (Part Time Local Pastor) from Croydon: Wilkinson Memorial UMC
  • Rev. Glen Esler (Elder) from Chaplain at Cornwall Manor.
  • Rev. James Heath (Elder) from Cornwall UMC
  • Rev. Randy Leitzel (Elder) from Myerstown: Zion UMC
  • Rev. Michael Murphy (Elder) from Doylestown UMC
  • Rev. Dr. Frank J. Richardson, Jr. from Extension Ministry
  • Rev. Richard Rimert (Elder) from Conestoga UMC and Safe Harbor UMC
  • Rev. Jackie Stewart (Part Time Local Pastor) from Philadelphia: Bickley’s New Beginning UMC
  • Rev. Scott Widmer (Elder) from Mohntown: Calvary UMC
  • Rev. Susan Wollyong (Part Time Local Pastor) from Tobyhanna UMC


  • Rev. Nancy Gehres from Llewellyn UMC, effective February 28, 2019.
  • Rev. Janet Hess from Springfield: C. C. Hancock and Springfield: Covenant, effective June 30, 2019.
  • Rev. Dennis Keen from Nantmeal effective May 11, 2019.
  • Rev. John Lynch from Kleinfeltersville: Trinity UMC
  • Rev. William (Bill) Kuntze from Cherry Lane UMC
  • Rev. Arthur (Art) Rettew from Rawlinsville UMC

*This list is subject to change any time. A pastor’s name on this list is simply a status designation. They may or may not continue to serve in some capacity either at their current appointment or at another appointment.

Past Appointments & Retirements: