2011 Academy for Laity

John Crapper receives Walter King Award
John Crapper receives the Walter King Award from Judy Ehninger at the 2011 Academy for Laity. Photo credit:  Paul C. Davis

Walter King Memorial Award presented at the 28th Academy for Laity

By Verna Colliver and Raymond DeBrest

John Crapper, Tindley Temple UMC, received the Walter King Memorial Award at the 28th Annual Academy for Laity at the Sheraton Hotel, Bucks County PA, on Saturday evening, August 6, 2011.

The award was presented by members of the Academy Planning Team as part of the evening program which began with praise music led by Grove UMC Praise Band and included dinner and a time of fellowship.

John Crapper accepted Jesus Christ as his personal Savior and joined Tindley Temple UNC in 1967. He served as lay leader, administrative council chair, Christian education chair, Sunday school superintendent, evangelism chair and lay member to Annual Conference. Beyond the local church, he has been district lay leader and has been active in leadership in United Methodist Men.

As a Christ Servant Minister, John has a special love for service in speaking, caring, and visitation ministries. He visits the sick, homebound, and terminally ill, as well as counseling and teaching the word of God. His Bible study sessions during the Academy weekend were always well received.

His strong personality, intelligence, articulation and outgoing, friendly spirit has engendered close friendships within, and beyond, Tindley Temple where he is tirelessly active, always willing and ready to help anyone.

John and his wife, Beatrice Smallwood, are the proud parents of two sons, four daughters and fourteen grandchildren. Raymond DeBrest, John’s good friend, comments, “Having known John for over 25 years, I am confident that he is more than deserving of this award. Walter would be honored in knowing John Crapper is the recipient of this award honoring his name.”

The Walter King Memorial Award is presented in the memory of Walter King who was active in his local church and in the conference. He was treasurer for the Academy for Laity and faithfully served on the planning team for a number of years. The award was established in 2010 and is given to a Christ Servant Minister who embodies and exemplifies the characteristics of a life-giving relationship with Jesus Christ through leadership, communication, and caring ministries.

For information on becoming a Christ Servant Minister, go to: http://www.gbgm-umc.org/csm/.