Prayer Request from Dr. Mary White

Please pray for the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference delegation as we prepare for the Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference, July 16-20, Charleston, WV.  Especially keep the Rev. Dr. Christopher Kurien, our Episcopal candidate, in your prayers.    You are invited to use this prayer resource, “10 Days of Prayer”:

Ten lay and ten clergy delegates will represent the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference at the NEJ Conference (see list below).

The primary purpose of the quadrennial meeting is the election and assignment of bishops to the ten annual conferences of the jurisdiction.  To see the agenda of the meeting, go to:

The Book of Discipline 2008 requires bishops to move after two four-year terms in the same area unless two thirds majority of both the Jurisdictional Committee on Episcopacy and Jurisdictional Conference approves a third term. The task force to study the episcopacy would like to see General Conference 2023 enact legislation that would make a 12 year stay in Episcopal area more of the norm than the exception.  All assignments for active bishops begin September 1 following the Jurisdictional Conference.

EPA Delegation:
Laity: Mary White, Judy Ehninger, George Hollich, Ruth Daugherty, Jordan Harris, Elizabeth Fisher, Ann Jacob, Candace Carter, Lenora Thompson, Jason Perkowski; Alt: Jane Bonner.

Clergy: James Todd, Robin Hynicka, Lillian Smith, Dawn Taylor-Storm, Tracy Bass, Doris Dalton,  Alan Smith, Joseph DiPaolo, Christopher Kurien, Andrew Foster; Alt: Dorothy Watson-Tatem, Michele Bartlow and Bronwyn Yocum.

*Dr. Mary White is chair of the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference delegation, and is Conference Lay Leader.