Northeastern Jurisdiction

The Northeastern Jurisdiction

The Northeastern Jurisdiction of The United Methodist Church (NEJ) covers the 9 Episcopal areas (10 annual conferences) located in the area from Maine south to West Virginia. The Northeastern Jurisdiction is one of five US jurisdictions along with seven Central Conferences that serve United Methodists around the globe. Learn more at

Northeastern Jurisdiction Call to Action Resolution & Response

Please visit our Religion & Race page for more information about Eastern PA Conference activities and ministries to address race, racism, racial justice and reconciliation.

Screen Shot 2016-09-27 at 1.38.05 PM

A statement presented by the NEJ College of Bishops to the Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference July 13, 2016, Lancaster PA:

Call to action against racism: Are we really going to do this?

By the Rev. Tracy Bass — July 21, 2016

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., in his letter from the Birmingham jail, wrote, “We will all have to repent, not merely for the hateful words and actions of bad people, but for the appalling silence of the good people. The church has remained silent behind the anesthetizing security of stained-glass windows.”

As he admired the beautiful churches of the South and their lofty steeples pointing towards heaven, he asked himself:  “What kind of people worship here?  Who is their God?  Where are their voices?” Read more…

Eastern PA Conference Reports to the NEJ: