Bishop Peggy A. Johnson

Bishop's Cravat LogoBishop’s Office

P.O. Box 820
Valley Forge, PA 19482-0820
Ph: 610-666-1442
Fax: 610-666-9181
Administrative Assistant: Amy Botti,

To schedule a visit by the Bishop, please fill out the Bishop Visit Request Form (.doc) and email it to or fax to 610-666-9181.

Bishop Peggy A. Johnson

Bishop Peggy A. Johnson is a native of Baltimore, Maryland and serves as the episcopal leader of the Philadelphia Area of the United Methodist Church, which includes the Eastern Pennsylvania Annual Conference and the Peninsula-Delaware Annual Conference. She received a Bachelor of Science degree from Lebanon Valley College, a Master of Divinity from Asbury Theological Seminary and a Doctor of Ministry degree from Wesley Theological Seminary.  Prior to her election to the episcopacy in 2008 she served as a pastor in the Baltimore-Washington Conference since 1980. Her churches included a 4-point rural circuit in Frederick, MD, a suburban Baltimore congregation, a campus ministry at Galladuet University and for 20 years she was the pastor of the Christ UMC of the Deaf.  Bishop Johnson has a particular passion for ministry with people with disabilities and her years as the pastor of an all-Deaf congregation led her on paths of experience with not only the deaf and deaf-blind communities but also with those who have mobility, intellectual, and mental health challenges.  She is married to the Rev. Michael C. Johnson, a United Methodist pastor, and they have two adult sons, Peter and Gabriel.

Bishop Peggy A. Johnson

Born: December 16, 1953
Married: The Rev. Michael C. Johnson (UM Clergy)
Children: Peter M. Johnson, Gabriel P. Johnson

Education & Honors

Lebanon Valley College – B.S. – Music Education – 1975
Asbury Theological Seminary – M. Div. – 1980
Wesley Theological Seminary – D. Min. – 1993
Wesley College – D. Div. (honorary degree) – 2009
“Circuit Rider of the Year” – UM Publishing – 1990
“Pillar of Faith Award” – Howard Divinity School – 2006
“John Wesley Award” – Wesley Theological Seminary – 2009
“Alumni of the Year Award” – Asbury Theological Seminary – 2010
Honarary Doctorate – Albright College – 2014


2008-Present: Bishop Philadelphia Episcopal Area (Eastern PA and Peninsula-Delaware)
Mt. Pleasant UM Charge – Frederick, MD (rural-cross cultural)
Gallaudet University Campus Chaplain – (Washington, DC)
Lansdowne UMC – Baltimore, MD (suburban)
Christ UMC of the Deaf – Baltimore, MD (multi-cultural)
Wesley Theological Seminary (Adjunct Faculty)


Make a Joyful Silence: Deaf Ministry  (2006)


United Methodist Congress of the Deaf Sigma Alpha Iota (Music Fraternity for Women)
Association of United Methodist Ministers with Disabilities

General and Jurisdictional Delegate 1996, 2000, 2004, and 2008
Board Member – GBHEM – 1996-2000
Consultant – GBGM (Health and Welfare) 2001-2004
Conference BOOM – 1995-2008
Board Member – COSROW – 2008-2012
VIM trips: Jamaica, Kenya, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo